Skip to main content



Renaissance Wonder: the Villa d'Este in Tivoli.

Here in Rome days are getting longer again. As the month of February is coming to an end and the cool of winter is making room for crisp but bright days, it is probably the best period to explore more remote areas of Rome. The Roman countryside boasts one of the most fascinating Italian sceneries. One of the most fascinating locations, right outside Rome is the little town of Tivoli, once an important crossing-point of the Grand Tour. Tivoli is known for its great villas, some of them dating back to Roman times, like Adrian’s Villa - although the finest is probably the Villa d’Este, which dominates over the surrounding area.

The stunning complex is a testament to the Renaissance genius. It was commissioned by Cardinal Ippolito d’Este, the second son of Alfonso d’Este, Duke of Ferrara and Grandson of Pope Alexander VI, along with Lucrezia Borgia. The Este family had been lords of Ferrara since 1393, and were great Renaissance philanthropists - being great patrons of the arts and human…

Latest Posts

Examples of bad conservation and good conservation: Italy, Diocese of Gibraltar.

New York Renaissance.

Is Beauty the Future of Anglicanism?

The Anglican Community in Rome, All Saints' Church - a walking tour.

The Anglican Community in Rome, the 20th century - the war and the future.